REWE Final4: The Highlight of the season

On this page you can read exciting information about our premium event from current news to the history of the REWE Final4.


The final weekend for the DHB Cup will be held for the third time on April 12 and 13, 2025 in the 19,750-capacity LANXESS arena in Cologne. The two previous events were sold out. The two semi-finals will take place on Saturday (April 12, 2025), followed by the match for third place and the grand final for the 2023/24 DHB Cup on Sunday (April 13, 2025).

Semi-final 1
Semi-final 2

SUNDAY, APRIL 13, 2025
Match for 3rd place
Final for the DHB Cup

The kick-off times will be announced as soon as the coordination with the TV stations has been completed.
Current event information can be found here.

REWE Final4 2024: SC Magdeburg is DHB-Pokal winner

"Here reigns the SCM": SC Magdeburg is DHB Cup winner for the third time after 1996 and 2016. After losing three finals in 2019, 2022 and 2023, Bennet Wiegert's team won the final at the REWE Final4 in Cologne on Sunday by 30:19 (13:11) against MT Melsungen, who still have to wait for their first cup win.

It was the second clearest result in a DHB Cup final after THW Kiel's 30:15 win over TV Niederwürzbach in 1998, although it did not look like such a clear result until the 40th minute. Melsungen were on a par up to this point, but then SCM pulled away - and the success had the same name as the 30:25 victory in the semi-final against Füchse Berlin the day before: goalkeeper Sergey Hernandez The Spaniard saved a total of 20 shots and was also deservedly named DKB Player of the Tournament. The best scorers for the new cup winners were Lukas Mertens with seven goals and Omar Ingi Magnusson (6).

Magdeburg had lost to Rhein-Neckar Löwen on seven-meter penalties at the premiere of the REWE Final4 last year, but now celebrated their second success in the final in the LANXESS Arena after last year's Champions League triumph. Albin Lagergren, who moved from the Lions to SCM in the summer of 2023, is therefore the only defending champion in the DHB Cup.

Final: SC Magdeburg - MT Melsungen 30:19 (13:11)

As in the semi-final victory against Flensburg, Melsungen relied on a 7-on-6 in attack and very offensive covering. After a very hectic and nervous start by both sides, SCM took the lead, but then had enormous problems in attack and was therefore not able to open up a gap of more than two goals.

Goalkeeper Sergey Hernandez stood like a wall again, as he did in the semi-final against the Foxes. The Spaniard saved nine shots alone before the break. However, Magdeburg were not able to control the game, which was also due to the fact that MT goalkeeper Adam Morawski saved two seven-meter penalties from Omar Ingi Magnusson. The SCM relied on individual actions against the physically extremely present and agile defense of the club from North Hesse, but these were not always crowned with success. The 13:11 lead at the break for the current Champions League champions was well deserved and could have been even greater.

Magdeburg also had problems against Melsungen's solid defense after the break. The game continued to be tough and thrived on the tension. The SCM fans, who were clearly superior in numbers, tried everything to whip their team forward, but the Melsungen fans in the stands also kept up a loud fight. It was finally DHB international Lukas Mertens who broke the spell with a double to make it 20:16 and give his side its first four-goal lead in the 40th minute.

Even a timeout by Melsungen at 17:22 in the 43rd minute did not turn the game around, on the contrary: Sergey Hernandez's 13th save was followed by Lukas Mertens' sixth goal and with 14 minutes remaining the game was decided at 23:17. The thousands of SCM fans in the LANXESS arena sang "Super SC Magdeburg". And after that it became really clear, with the fans and SCM bench cheering without limits minutes before the end. And the fans knew who they had to thank: "Sergey. Sergey" echoed through the LANXESS arena after the final whistle.

History: The REWE Final4 since 1994

It is the most popular club handball event in the world: The REWE Final4. The 4 best DHB-Pokal teams of the season fight on the final weekend of the DHB-Pokal in 2 semi-final matches (on Saturday) and one final match (on Sunday) in the Barclays Arena Hamburg for the coveted DHB-Pokal.The success story of the Final4 tournament to date, which has played a major role in shaping the great reputation of the DHB-Pokal to this day, is closely linked to Hamburg and today's Barclays Arena. In 1994, the last four clubs remaining in the cup competition met for the first time in the Sporthalle Hamburg in Hamburg Alsterdorf. A year earlier, the DHB-Pokal final celebrated its premiere in the form of a Final4 tournament in Frankfurt's Ballsporthalle.
From 2003 to 2021, the REWE Final4 for the DHB-Pokal then developed into the world's most popular and traditional Final4 tournament in handball at today's Barclays Arena. The REWE Final4 stands for a unique arena atmosphere and also sets standards as a TV and media event. Both semifinals and the final will be shown live in their entirety by Sky on pay TV. ARD or ZDF will broadcast one of the semifinals in parallel, while ARD will also broadcast the final in parallel with Sky. Nationally, the REWE Final4 tournament achieves a broadcast duration of up to 61 hours and an annual reach of up to 43 million viewers. The matches of the DHB-Pokal final weekend are shown live in 30 countries worldwide.  

The DHB Cup winners in chronological order:

2024 SC Magdeburg
2023 Rhein-Neckar Löwen 
2022 THW Kiel
2020 TBV Lemgo
2019 THW Kiel 
2018 Rhein-Neckar Löwen 
2017 THW Kiel 
2016 SC Magdeburg
2015 SG Flensburg-Handewitt 
2014 Füchse Berlin
2013 THW Kiel
2012 THW Kiel 
2011 THW Kiel
2010 Handball Sport Verein Hamburg
2009 THW Kiel 
2008 THW Kiel 
2007 THW Kiel 
2006 Handball Sport Verein Hamburg
2005 SG Flensburg-Handewitt
2004 SG Flensburg-Handewitt 
2003 SG Flensburg-Handewitt
2002 TBV Lemgo
2001 VfL Bad Schwartau
2000 THW Kiel 
1999 THW Kiel 
1998 THW Kiel 
1997 TBV Lemgo
1996 SC Magdeburg
1995 TBV Lemgo
1994 SG Wallau/Massenheim 
1993 SG Wallau/Massenheim 
1992 TuSEM Essen
1991 TuSEM Essen
1990 TSV Milbertshofen 
1989 TV Großwallstadt 
1988 TuSEM Essen
1987 TV Großwallstadt 
1986 MTSV Schwabing 
1985 VfL Gummersbach 
1984 TV Großwallstadt  
1983 VfL Gummersbach
1982 VfL Gummersbach
1981 TuS Nettelstedt
1980 TV Großwallstadt 
1979 TSV Grün-Weiß Dankersen
1978 VfL Gummersbach
1977 VfL Gummersbach
1976 TSV Grün-Weiß Dankersen
1975 TSV Grün-Weiß Dankersen